Rental Laws by State : Guides for Landlords & Tenants
To make sure all responsible landlords and tenants are informed, we provide detailed information about local, state and federal laws governing rental properties. 1. Landlord Tenant Rights – state-by-state breakdowns of the law that govern the rights and duties of landlords and tenants. Additionally, see our breakdowns of the main areas of landlord/tenant laws by topic area: […]
Actived: 6 days ago
Squatter's Rights : Adverse Possession Laws by State
(3 days ago) Kansas law encourages landowners to allow people to enter their land for recreational purposes, such as hunting or fishing, swimming or water skiing, camping, hiking, winter sports, non-commercial aviation, and historical, archaeological, scenic, or scientific sites.
California Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(Just Now) The law does not specify how this notice is to be delivered, but writing is the most common. California landlords do not need permission to enter for emergencies that threaten the health and safety of the tenant. Small Claims Court in California.
Pennsylvania Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights
(2 days ago) According to Pennsylvania law ( Pennsylvania Landlord and Tenant Act ), tenants have certain rights, such as the right to enjoy the property without undue disturbance and the right to a safe and livable space. Landlords also have rights, such as the right to be reimbursed for costs from damages that exceed normal wear and tear and the right to
New York Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(8 days ago) Last Updated: October 7, 2021 by Elizabeth Souza New York rental agreements can be either written or oral. If a rental agreement exists and is valid, New York law (NY Real Property Law Sec. 220-238A) states that landlords have certain rights, such as the right to receive timely rent and the right to be reimbursed for damages that exceed normal wear and tear.
Squatter's Rights Michigan : Adverse Possession Laws
(2 days ago) A squatter can claim rights to a property after residing there for a certain amount of time. In Michigan, it takes 15 years of continuous occupation in order for a squatter to make an adverse possession claim (MIC § 600.5801, 5851). When a squatter claims adverse possession, they can gain legal ownership of a …
Squatter's Rights New York : Adverse Possession Laws
(2 days ago) New York law requires that a squatter have color of title to make an adverse possession claim. You may have come across this term before in your research into squatter’s rights. Essentially ‘color of title’ means that the ownership of a property is not ‘regular’, One ore more of the correct legal documents, memorials, or registrations
Squatter's Rights Utah : Adverse Possession Laws in UT
(8 days ago) While local law enforcement can help if there is a criminal trespasser, they can’t do much for a squatting situation. Tips for Protecting Yourself from Squatters in Utah. Inspect the property regularly. Always pay your own property taxes. Secure the property (block all entrances, lock all doors and windows, etc).
Carbon Monoxide & Smoke Detector Laws : by State
(8 days ago) Frequently Asked Questions How Are Fire Code Laws and Ordinances Written? While many states adopt the NFPA or IFC Fire Code, city, county, or other municipal jurisdictions may have additional code requirements regarding smoke and carbon monoxide detectors.
Squatter's Rights Texas : Adverse Possession Laws in TX
(9 days ago) Only a law enforcement officer with a court order can remove a squatter. This will usually happen at a court-appointed time and date. If the squatter leaves behind any personal property, a landowner must carefully inventory the property, store anything that has value, and give the squatter written notice that they have a reasonable amount of
Virginia Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(8 days ago) According to Virginia law ( Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act) if a tenant and landlord enter into a written or verbal lease agreement, they are granted special rights and responsibilities. Landlords have the right to evict if there are any lease violations and the right to collect rental payments on time.
Oregon Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(6 days ago) Oregon landlords are empowered to evict tenants for the following reasons: Nonpayment of rent – If an Oregon tenant fails to pay rent, then the landlord may issue a 72-hour Notice to Pay or Quit, after a 7 day grace period has passed. Oregon landlords may also opt for a 5 day grace period and then issue a 144-hour Notice to Pay.
Squatter's Rights Wyoming : Adverse Possession Laws
(1 days ago) A squatter can claim rights to a property after a certain time residing there. In Wyoming, it takes 10 years of continuous occupation for a squatter to make an adverse possession claim (Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 1-3-103, 104). When a squatter claims adverse possession, they can gain legal ownership of the property. During this claim, the squatter is
New Mexico Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(Just Now) The law does explicitly forbid landlords from changing the locks as a form of eviction. Local Laws in New Mexico Albuquerque Landlord Tenant Rights. The city of Albuquerque has several ordinances that make tenants more responsible for keeping their units clean. The city’s housing code also requires landlords to make sure doors and windows are
Squatter's Rights Hawaii : Adverse Possession Laws
(Just Now) A squatter may be able to claim ownership of a property after a certain amount of time residing there. In Hawaii, it takes 20 years of continuous occupation for a squatter to make an adverse possession claim (HRS § 657-31.5, et seq). Making this claim means that they have the opportunity to …
Florida Laws on Rent Increases & Fees : FAQs
(7 days ago) Florida law does not regulate late fees. However, the lease should contain this information. If the lease, contains no information regarding late fees, one may not be imposed. Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees. A Florida landlord may add an additional fee to the outstanding rent if …
Wisconsin Habitability Laws : Living Conditions
(1 days ago) Note that Wisconsin law doesn’t address landlord responsibilities in detail at the state level; however, landlords are required to maintain “fit” premises and comply with building and housing codes. In addition, the municipality in which the rental property is located may have additional requirements that landlords must follow. Making Repairs
Breaking a Lease in Kentucky : ALL Legal Reasons
(5 days ago) Kentucky state law does require landlords to take reasonable steps to rerent their unit when a tenant breaks their lease. This is referred to as the landlord’s duty to “mitigate damages”. This means that if you leave your lease early and your landlord rerents the unit before your lease ends, then the rent received from the new tenant will
New Jersey Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(Just Now) Under New Jersey law, ( New Jersey Statutes Annotated) rental agreements grant certain rights to the tenant, such as the right to habitable housing and the right to seek housing without discrimination. Landlords also have certain rights, such as the right to deduct any costs associated with damages that exceed normal wear and tear and to
Connecticut Laws on Rent Increases & Fees : FAQs
(1 days ago) Connecticut law indicates that a tenant is not liable to a landlord for civil damages when a rent check is returned for insufficient funds. CGSA 52-565a. Cities in the State With Rent Control. The state of Connecticut has legislation keeping the local municipalities from adopting ordinances controlling rent CGS 7-148b. However, Connecticut law
Washington Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(Just Now) Last Updated: October 8, 2021 by Elizabeth Souza Whenever there is a lease, either verbal or written, Washington laws (Revised Code of Washington Chapter 59.18) allow tenants to obtain certain rights, for example, the right to obtain receipts for every payment and the right to know where the security deposit is being held.
Indiana Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(7 days ago) According to Indiana Law, (Indiana Code Title 32 Article 31) this relationship carries with it certain responsibilities and rights. Landlords are entitled to collect rent in a timely manner and may recover payment from deliberate and negligent damages exceeding those from normal use. Tenants also have rights, which includes a safe and habitable
Illinois Fair Housing : Housing Discrimination Laws
(8 days ago) The City of Naperville handles its complaints through the Naperville Housing Advisory Commission within 90 days. Penalties. In Illinois, the first violation of a fair housing law can result in a fine of up to $16,000 for the first violation, up to $42,500 for the second violation, and up to …
Breaking a Lease in Wyoming : ALL Legal Reasons
(4 days ago) Wyoming state law has no statute on the notice the landlord must give to enter the rental property. If your landlord repeatedly violates your rights to privacy or does removes windows or doors, turns off your utilities, or changes the locks, you would be considered “constructively evicted,” as described above.
Ohio Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(4 days ago) Ohio law ( Ohio Revised Code Chapter 5321) states wherever there is a written or verbal rental agreement, landlords have the right to collect rental payments in a timely manner and the right to recover costs associated with negligent or deliberate damages that exceed normal wear and tear. The tenant automatically obtains rental rights
Iowa Habitability Laws : Living Conditions & Repairs
(6 days ago) Withhold rent – Iowa landlord tenant law does not outright state that a tenant in Iowa has the ability to withhold rent in response to habitability issues. Repair and deduct – tenants have the right to repair the issue themselves and deduct a reasonable amount for the repair from the following month’s rent.
Indiana Habitability Laws : Living Conditions & Repairs
(9 days ago) Withhold rent – Indiana landlord tenant law does not outright state that a tenant in Indiana can withhold rent in response to habitability issues. Repair and deduct – tenants do not have the right to repair the issue themselves and deduct a reasonable amount for the repair from the following month’s rent.
Pennsylvania Lease Agreement (Free) 2021 Official PDF
(2 days ago) It is a federal law in the United States that any home built prior to 1978 must disclose the risks posed by lead-based paints. This law requires landlords in Pennsylvania to: Fill out and attach this lead based paint disclosure form to the lease agreement. Provide the tenant with an EPA-approved pamphlet about the dangers of lead-based paint.
Utah Eviction Process : Laws, Timeline, & FAQs
(8 days ago) According to Utah law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods, if any, are addressed in the lease/rental agreement. Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide tenants with a 3-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court.
Delaware Security Deposit Law : Refunds + FAQs
(2 days ago) Legal Basics.According to Delaware security deposit law, a landlord can charge up to one month’s rent as security deposit. At the end of the lease, the landlord has 20 days to return it (or pay double the original deposit if after), and may deduct unpaid rent, damages in excess of normal wear and tear, and expenses incurred related to early termination.
Missouri Habitability Laws : Living Conditions & Repairs
(Just Now) Withhold rent – Missouri landlord tenant law does not allow tenants in Missouri to withhold rent in response to habitability issues. Repair and deduct – The tenant can pay for the repair and deduct from rent if the landlord fails to make necessary repairs. The cost must not exceed the greater of $300 or one-half of one month’s rent.
Alabama Landlord Tenant Laws : Renter's Rights & FAQs
(7 days ago) Alabama law does not have provisions relating to when locks can and cannot be changed. Local Landlord Tenant Laws in Alabama. Birmingham – Birmingham maintains a health and safety code that may go above and beyond standards set forth by the state.
Normal Wear and Tear vs Damage: Definition + Comparisons
(7 days ago) Normal wear and tear in Florida is defined as a matter of case law or practice. The statutes do not specifically provide a definition but generally, it is deterioration that occurs naturally as a result of the tenant using the property as it’s designed to be used without fault or negligence from the tenant.
New Mexico Squatter's Rights : Adverse Possession Laws
(4 days ago) A squatter can claim rights to the property after a certain time of residing there. In New Mexico, it takes 10 years of continuous occupation for a squatter to make an adverse possession claim (NMSA § 37-1-22 (1978)). When a squatter claims adverse possession, they can gain legal ownership of the property.
FREE Colorado Lease Termination Letter + Notice  PDF
(7 days ago) A Colorado lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Colorado. State law requires not less than the period fixed before the end of the applicable tenancy for termination, which is as follows: A tenancy for one year or longer, ninety-one days; A tenancy of six months or
OFFICIAL Pennsylvania Month-to-Month Rental Agreement
(6 days ago) The Pennsylvania month-to-month rental agreement allows a tenant to rent from a landlord for one month at a time with no end date. The landlord will collect monthly rent payments from the tenant for the use of their residential property. Pennsylvania landlords and tenants may want to use a month-to-month lease agreement for its short-term nature and ease of termination.
Alaska Security Deposit Law : Refunds + FAQs
(Just Now) Alaska landlords can demand a maximum of two months’ rent (three months’ if the tenant has a pet) as security deposit from which unpaid rent and cost of damages incurred may be deducted. However, the limit doesn’t apply if the monthly rent is more than $2,000. It must be returned within 14 days if there was a notice of termination, or 30
Oregon Habitability Laws : Living Conditions & Repairs
(8 days ago) invoked the protection of any right secured to tenants under any federal, state or local law. Sources. Oregon State Law, Volume 3 – Landlord-Tenant, Domestic Relations, Probate; Title 10 – Property Rights and Transactions; Chapter 90 – Residential Landlord and Tenant. Oregon State Bar, “Landlord and Tenant Law.”
Idaho Security Deposit Law : Refunds + FAQs
(9 days ago) According to Idaho Landlord-Tenant law, normal wear and tear means that “deterioration which occurs based upon the use for which the rental unit is intended and without negligence, carelessness, accident, or misuse or abuse of the premises or contents by the tenant or members of his household, or their invitees or guests.” Read more »
OFFICIAL California Sublease Agreement Form  PDF & DOC
(1 days ago) California law states that a landlord may increase the rent payment in a sublease situation. It is important for the sublessor to address this with the landlord to ensure that they are collecting a fair amount for rent and deposits from the sublessee. Evictions.
OFFICIAL Missouri Room Rental Agreement: Roommate Form 
(2 days ago) The Missouri roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a legal document that lays out the terms and conditions associated with sharing a rental property. Each co-tenant must sign the contract, thereby agreeing to the financial obligations and social expectations of inhabiting the property. What to Include in a Missouri Roommate Agreement
FREE Oklahoma Lease Termination Letter + Notice  PDF
(5 days ago) Purpose. An Oklahoma lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Oklahoma. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Pennsylvania Eviction Process : Laws, Timeline, & FAQs
(6 days ago) Law enforcement officials must serve the writ of possession on the tenant within 48 hours of receiving it from the court. Tenants will then have 10 days to move out before law enforcement officials return to forcibly remove tenants from the rental unit.
Alabama Landlord Responsibilities for Habitability [2021
(9 days ago) Under Alabama law, landlords are required to make all necessary repairs to keep the property in a habitable condition. Sending Notice – If the landlord fails to maintain the dwelling in a habitable condition, the tenant may provide written notice of intent to terminate the rental agreement upon a date not less than 14 days after the landlord
Lease Termination Letter + Notice to Vacate : All
(8 days ago) How to calculate your notice: When a tenant or landlord wants to end their month-to-month agreement, a 30-day notice is (typically) required by state law. The timing of this notice can often be confusing for both tenants and landlords because the notice takes effect on the date that rent is due rather than the 30th day after the notice is given.