Listing Websites about Car Law
Laws & Regulations NHTSA
(8 days ago) After the enactment of Anton’s Law, this agency increased the applicability of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) No. 213, Child restraint systems, from restraints recommended for children up to 50 lb to restraints recommended for children up to 65 lb.
Car Law Firm
(7 days ago) Car Law Firm is an association between independent law firms and attorneys all across California and Texas, and focuses solely on dealer fraudulent activities. We offer specific relief to all consumers who have been defrauded by false and misleading (and illegal) behaviour.
Massachusetts law about automobiles Mass.gov
(9 days ago) A compilation of laws, regulations, cases, and web sources on the law of automobiles in general, including buying, selling, and lemon laws. For more specific motor vehicle topics, see the Related links below.
California Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights – Consumer & Business
(3 days ago) A car cannot be “certified” if: The vehicle’s title has been labeled as a Lemon Law Buyback, manufacturer repurchase, salvage, junk, non-repairable, flood, etc. The vehicle has frame damage, or was sold to you “as-is.” The odometer was tampered with or does not show the true mileage of the car.
CAR LAW FIRM
(9 days ago) Car Law Firm is an association between independent law firms and attorneys all across California, and focuses solely on dealer fraudulent activities. We offer specific relief to all consumers who have been defrauded by false and misleading (and illegal) behaviour.
Guide to Used Vehicle Warranty Law Mass.gov
(2 days ago) Under the Massachusetts Lemon Laws, you may be eligible for compensation for your used vehicle if it has at least one qualifying defect that impairs its use or safety. The car must have been purchased from a Massachusetts dealer and be used for personal or family purposes (i.e. not used primarily for business).
Lemon Laws by State DMV.ORG
(8 days ago) Use our state Lemon Law guides to find out how to keep good records, notify the manufacturer that the vehicle is flawed, file a Lemon Law complaint, and receive restitution. We'll tell you exactly what your state's laws say regarding what qualifies as a lemon, how long you have to file a claim, and what the burden of proof is.
Car Repossession Laws: An Overview Nolo
(5 days ago) When you finance or lease a car, you normally give the lender a security interest in the vehicle. Every state has its own rules regarding repossession, but having a security interest generally means your lender can repossess the car without notice if you default on the loan.
Unlawful Vehicle Modifications: State Laws
(4 days ago) 52 rows · Whether it is dark window tinting, modifying your exhaust system so you can …
Idling Your Car in These States Is Illegal
(6 days ago) Even cars that have an automatic start feature are against the law in some states, according to Lifewire. (Hey, don't kill the messenger.) (Hey, don't …
Dealer's Guide to the Used Car Rule Federal Trade Commission
(4 days ago) Most car dealers who sell used vehicles must comply with the Federal Trade Commission's (FTC's) Used Car Rule. In fact, car dealers who sell, or offer for sale, more than five used vehicles in a 12-month period must comply with the Rule.
Can You Return a Car You Just Bought
(7 days ago) The vehicle owner must also make good-faith attempts with the manufacturer to repair the vehicle. Similar lemon laws apply in California. The car buyer must discover the defect within 18 months of delivery or 18,000 miles of use. The lemon law covers all new, used, and leased cars still covered by the manufacturer’s vehicle warranty.
Exhaust Noise Laws By State SEMA ACTION NETWORK
(8 days ago) No person shall knowingly operate and no owner shall knowingly cause or permit to be operated any motor vehicle originally equipped or required by any law or regulation of the state or the federal government to be equipped with a noise suppressing system while any part of that system is disconnected or while that system or its operation is modified or altered in any manner, except to …
Vehicle Law and Legal Definition USLegal, Inc.
(2 days ago) Vehicle Law and Legal Definition. Vehicle is something used as an instrument of conveyance. It can include any conveyance used for transporting passengers or things by land, water, or air. It can be a self propelled conveyance that runs on tires like a motor vehicle.
Laws Protecting Customers Buying Used Cars LoveToKnow
(Just Now) Federal Used Car Law Consumers that purchase used cars enjoy federal law protection. Federal law is applicable to any car dealer or seller who sells more than six used cars a year. Used cars are those that have been driven more than the limited mileage from moving the car from one site to the next, or that is added on during consumer test drives.
Car Repairs and the Law
(1 days ago) This applies even if your car is an $80,000 luxury vehicle that received a $35 oil change. Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices Statutes (Laws) All states have some kind of law addressing consumer protection against unfair and deceptive acts and practices (sometimes referred to as UDAP). They can vary from one state to the next.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Lemon Law
(6 days ago) Car Lemon Law cases only). Cases are Scheduled at Your Convenience - Cases are scheduled at a date, time and location that is most convenient for you: Newark, Trenton or Atlantic City. The Fee is Only $50 - There is a $50 filing fee which is refunded to you if you win your case. (The fee is for New Car Lemon Law cases only)
New York DMV About New York State Inspections
(3 days ago) When you need a safety inspectionAll vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection at a DMV-licensed inspection stationevery 12 monthswhen the ownership of the vehicle is transferredA valid inspection sticker must be displayed on your vehicle. Inspections expire the last day of the month punched on the inspection sticker.If your vehicle does not have a
Table of State Laws that Protect Animals Left in Parked
(6 days ago) Most of these laws provide that the animal must be confined or unattended in a parked or stationary vehicle. Further, the laws add that in order for a person to violate the law, the conditions have to endanger the animal's life. Under some state laws, law enforcement or other individuals are allowed to rescue animals left under extreme conditions.
Motor Vehicle Law
(7 days ago) Motor vehicle law covers all the aspects of registering and titling motor vehicles, and licensing drivers. It also covers highway, driver and vehicle safety laws. The associated laws and regulations are governed by both Federal and individual State laws.
Can You Return the Car You Just Bought
(9 days ago) It takes time and repeated visits to the service bay to legally establish that a car is a lemon in order to have a vehicle considered under the Lemon Law. Make sure you brush up on the lemon laws
Vehicle Carry Laws in Florida The Firearm Firm
(3 days ago) For the purpose of Florida Statute §790.25, a bicycle is not a conveyance under Florida law. Florida Statutes §810.011(3) defines “conveyance as including any motor vehicle, ship, vessel, railroad vehicle or car, trailer, aircraft, or sleeping car …” Excluded from the list are bicycles and other self-propelled forms of transportation.
Used Car Considerations Washington State
(6 days ago) By law, the dealer is required upon request to either display or disclose in writing a used vehicle's asking price (RCW 46.70.125). The dealer must also provide the name and address of the former registered owner to a prospective buyer upon request if that owner was a business or government entity.
New York Lemon Laws DMV.ORG
(Just Now) Used Cars and the Lemon Law. If you have a used vehicle that experiencing ongoing problems, you may be able to get recovery under the state's used car lemon laws if the vehicle meets the states requirements. The Used Car Lemon Law entitles you to a replacement vehicle or refund of purchase price if: The dealer is unable to amend the problem
Lemon Law for CT Consumers
(6 days ago) Lemon Law for the Consumer. Connecticut was the first state to put a “Lemon Law” in place to help owners of defective vehicles at or under 2 years old or with a mileage of 24,000 or less. The Lemon Law program has returned more than $60 million in refunds and replacement vehicles to …
Used Car Lemon Law New York State Attorney General
(2 days ago) USED CAR LEMON LAW BILL OF RIGHTS 1. If you purchase a used car for more than one thousand five hundred dollars, or lease a used car where you and the dealer have agreed that the car's value is more than one thousand five hundred dollars, from anyone selling or leasing three or more used cars a year, you must be given a written warranty. 2.
Used Car Lemon Law Fact Sheet New York State Attorney
(3 days ago) The Used Car Lemon law provides a legal remedy for consumers who are buyers or lessees of used cars that turn out to be lemons. The law requires dealers to give consumers a written warranty. Under this warranty, dealers must repair, free of charge, any defect in covered parts. If the dealer is unable to repair the car after a reasonable number
Importing a Motor Vehicle U.S. Customs and Border Protection
(9 days ago) A vehicle must be imported as a nonconforming vehicle unless it bears the manufacturer's label certifying that it meets U.S. standards. If it is a nonconforming vehicle, the importer must contract with a DOT-registered importer (RI) to modify the vehicle and certify that it conforms to all applicable FMVSS.
Used-Car Lemon Laws Edmunds
(2 days ago) Used-Car Lemon Laws. The frequency and severity of consumers' used-car problems has led some state legislatures to pass new laws. Currently, though, only six states — Connecticut, Massachusetts
Buying and Maintaining a Car State of California
(1 days ago) The California Lemon Law (Civ. Code, § 1793.22) protects you when your vehicle is defective and cannot be repaired after a “reasonable” number of attempts. In such instances, the manufacturer must either replace or repurchase the vehicle—whichever you prefer.
(3 days ago) CounselorLibrary.com, LLC, an affiliate of the law firm of Hudson Cook, LLP, is the leading compliance resource for the consumer financial services and privacy industries, providing comprehensive coverage and analysis of federal and state laws, regulations, and …
Car Complaints USAGov
(4 days ago) Lemon Laws. A car is a "lemon" when it's determined that the vehicle is defective beyond repair. Most states have some form of a lemon law to protect car buyers. These laws tend to only apply to new cars. Check with your state's consumer protection office to see if they also cover used cars. Each state has its own requirements, but common
California Laws on Buying & Selling Used Cars LegalMatch
(6 days ago) What Laws Govern the Sale of Used Cars in California? Used cars, also known as second-hand cars or pre-owned vehicles, are defined as motor vehicles that have had one or more retail owners, including car dealerships, rental car companies, car leasing offices, and private party sales.
Carfra Lawton LLP
(1 days ago) Our businesslike approach to insurance law claims is mirrored by how we run our own practice and we are constantly looking for more efficient ways to serve our clients. We never lose sight of the fact that we are acting on behalf of both insurers and their insureds. Our reputation - and our clients’ reputations - …
Tennessee Car Insurance Law 🚗 Jun 2021
(4 days ago) tennessee liability insurance law, driving without insurance in tennessee, tennessee no insurance law, new tn auto insurance law, tennessee auto insurance law, tn car insurance requirements, car insurance laws by state, tennessee insurance laws and regulations Quoizel, Savoy House, Fuji, Tony Robbins, Dennis Rymarz completely honest, given bankruptcy rules.
Lemon Law for New Cars Nolo
(Just Now) Some laws, for example, will cover a car that was bought with a certain amount of mileage on the odometer. In others, the lemon law applies to used cars that were still covered by the original warranty at the time of purchase. To learn more about leasing or purchasing a used or new car, get Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, by the editors of
Car and booster seat law
(9 days ago) Ohio's Child Passenger Safety Law is defined in Ohio Revised Code 4511.81.. As of Oct. 7, 2009, Ohio’s children are required to use belt-positioning booster seats once they outgrow their child safety seats until they are 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) tall.
Buying a Used Car From a Dealer FTC Consumer Information
(Just Now) Federal law doesn’t require dealers to give you three days to cancel the deal and return the car. In some states, dealers must give you the right to cancel. In other states, the right to return the car in a few days for a refund exists only if the dealer chooses to offer this option. Dealers may describe the …
Code of Laws
(5 days ago) Violations of low speed vehicle laws; penalty. (A) A person operating a low speed vehicle on a highway must comply with all statutes regarding low speed vehicles in this title. (B) Each violation of low speed vehicle laws constitutes a separate offense. (C) The penalty for a violation of this section is contained in Section 56-5-6190.
Motor-vehicle inspection (Japan)
(2 days ago) The vehicle will be accelerated to 40 km/h twice and the vehicle's speedometer reading is recorded. If the reading is different, it will not pass.  Headlamps. All headlamps must be an approved type, designed for left-hand traffic, emit white or yellow light, and be aimed correctly. Kei cars built 2006 and older are allowed
State Ignition Interlock Laws
(Just Now) No laws are available at this time. Hawaii: Yes: 2008 H.B. 3377: For first offense: 1-year revocation of license and privilege to operate a vehicle during the revocation period and installation during the revocation period of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle operated by the person.
Does Your State Require Dogs Be Harnessed in the Car
(Just Now) This law requires a dog riding outside of a vehicle's cab be secured by a framework, carrier or another device sufficient to keep it from falling from the vehicle. Laws proposed in 2018 and 2019 aimed to create stricter transportation requirements for dogs, but neither passed. - Resource 1 - …
General Lemon Law Washington State
(Just Now) General Lemon Law What is the Lemon Law? The Washington State Motor Vehicle “Lemon Law” was enacted to help new vehicle owners who have substantial continuing problems with warranty repairs. The law allows the owner to request an arbitration hearing through the Lemon Law Administration of Attorney General’s Office. An owner can request arbitration under Lemon Law at any time
Car Seats and Booster Seats NHTSA
(9 days ago) Types. Infant Car Seat (Rear-Facing only): Designed for newborns and small babies, the infant-only car seat is a small, portable seat that can only be used rear-facing. Most babies outgrow their infant seats before their first birthday. When that happens, we recommend that parents purchase a convertible or all-in-one car seat and use it rear-facing.
Automobile insurance guide
(6 days ago) If you get a new car, your current insurance will automatically cover it for about 20 days. The type of coverage depends on whether the car is an additional or replacement car. An additional car gets the same coverage as the car with the most coverage on your policy. A replacement car gets the same coverage as the car it replaces on your policy.