2021 Virginia Driving Cell Phone Laws
Listing Websites about 2021 Virginia Driving Cell Phone Laws
New Virginia cell phone law goes into effect in 2021: …
(6 days ago) Under Code of Virginia § 46.2-818.2., drivers can be charged with a traffic violation and fined $125 for the first offense and $250 for a second offense. Drivers face a mandatory $250 fine if they hold a cell phone while driving in a highway work zone. Additionally, texting while driving can lead to three points being added to a license by the
Virginia Cell Phone Driving Laws
(1 days ago) The new law passed in January 2021 makes holding your cell phone while driving in Virginia illegal. . Virginia cell phone distracted driving violations are considered traffic violations. First offenses come with a $125 fine and negative points on your driving record. Each subsequent violation carries a $250 penalty as well as demerit points.
New VA Cellphone Use Laws While Driving Effective 2021
(8 days ago) New VA Cellphone Use Laws While Driving Effective 2021. Virginia has updated its laws when it comes to handheld devices while driving. Currently, it is unlawful for drivers in Virginia to type on their handheld devices if they are driving. Only when traveling through a construction zone is it illegal to have a handheld device in one’s hand.
Phone Down. It’s the Law. DRIVE SMART Virginia
(9 days ago) Phone Down. It’s the Law. Beginning July 1 st, 2020, it will be illegal to hold a handheld personal communications device (e.g., a smart phone) while driving a moving motor vehicle on the highways in Virginia. The new law will not be effective until January 1 st, 2021, to …
Virginia’s New Hands-Free Law in 2021: What’s Illegal Now?
(1 days ago) Starting January 1, 2021, a new hands-free law became effective in Virginia, making it illegal to hold a cellphone or another handheld personal communications device while driving. With the new hands-free law, Virginia has joined the rest of the Washington region in banning handheld personal communications devices while behind the wheel.
§ 46.2-818.2. Use of handheld personal - Virginia Law
(3 days ago) § 46.2-818.2. Use of handheld personal communications devices in certain motor vehicles; exceptions; penalty. A. It is unlawful for any person, while driving a moving motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth, to hold a handheld personal communications device.
Recent Virginia Law Update: Cell Phone Use While Driving
(9 days ago) The law is set to take effect on January 1, 2021, and applies to most Virginia drivers. Continue reading for information regarding the new law. Overview of the New Cell Phone Law. Under the new law, it is unlawful for any person to hold a handheld personal communications device, while driving a motor vehicle in Virginia.
New laws impacting Virginia drivers in 2020 and 2021
(3 days ago) Prohibiting holding a cell phone while driving. House Bill 874, sponsored by Del.Jeff Bourne (D- Richmond), bans holding a cell phone in your hand while driving a motor vehicle in Virginia.  The old law, passed in 2019, only prohibited reading or typing messages on a personal communication device, but there was no ban on hand-held devices
Phone Ban While Driving: Virginia Laws Taking Effect On
(Just Now) A new law taking effect on Jan. 1, 2021 bans handheld cell phone use while driving on Virginia highways. (Shutterstock) VIRGINIA — The new year means new laws will take effect on Jan. 1, 2021
New Laws Passed 2021 In Virginia
(3 days ago) New laws impacting Virginia drivers in 2020 and 2021 Prohibiting holding a cell phone while driving.. The bill, signed by Governor Northam, takes effect on January 1, 2021. Driver privilege cards to undocumented immigrants..
New Virginia Law: Using Cellphones While Driving Is Illegal
(7 days ago) If you don't use your phone while driving, you may be in the minority. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, over 220 million Americans have wireless phone plans, and as many as 80% of those individuals use their phones while driving.. To combat the use of phones while driving, Virginia recently passed a law that makes any cellphone use while driving …
As of January 1st, 2021, Virginia New Handheld Cell Phone
(5 days ago) Virginia’s New Handheld Cell Phone Law: Explained As of January 1st, 2021, Code of Virginia § 46.2-818.2 makes it “u nlawful for any person, while driving a moving motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth, to hold a handheld personal communications device .”
Virginia law enforcement expect heavy enforcement of ban
(3 days ago) The hands free law, passed by the Virginia General Assembly, bans holding your cell phone while driving. That means no texting, calling, fiddling with social media and anything else that puts your
Governor Northam signs bill that bans use of hand-held
(6 days ago) The new ban on handheld devices while driving technically became a law on July 1, but it won’t actually be enacted until January 1, 2021. The General …
Primary and Secondary Traffic - A Virginia Law Firm
(3 days ago) Virginia Distracted Driving & Cell Phone Laws: A Quick Example. As another quick example that’s a bit more recent, a new law took effect on January 1st, 2021 which states that using a cell phone while driving is now a primary offense in Virginia.
New Virginia law bans holding a cellphone while driving
(6 days ago) PETERSBURG, Va -- Beginning Jan. 1 of 2021, Virginia law will prohibit people from holding a cellphone while driving, classifying it as a primary offense meaning police can pull over drivers over the action. First-time offences will cost a fine of $125 while additional offenses while cost a fine of $250.
Which States Have New Distracted Driving Laws in 2021
(6 days ago) Here’s a look at some of the updates in 2021. New Hands Free Driving Laws in Arizona, Virginia, and Idaho. Arizona’s hands-free driving law went into effect on January 1, 2021. Under the law, drivers are forbidden to hold a cell phone in their hands while driving. You also can't type or swipe while you drive.
Virginia law bans cell phone use while driving, January 1
(8 days ago) A new law in Virginia, that took effect January 1, 2021, makes it illegal to hold a handheld device including cell phones while driving. According to drivesmartvirginia.org, a first offense is punishable by a $125 fine.A second or subsequent offense is punishable by a fine of $250.
§ 46.2-1078.1. Repealed - Virginia Law
(5 days ago) Chapter 10. Motor Vehicle and Equipment Safety. 10/16/2021. § 46.2-1078.1. Repealed. Repealed by 2020, cc. 250 and 543, cl. 2, effective January 1, 2021. The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose